An Incurable World Travel Addict

Traveling is hard. Once you throw yourself into the world, you never want to be thrown back into the safe bubble called home. You want the world to hold onto you, and keep giving you the chance to see more, more, more. It’s never enough.

Growing up, I was lucky enough to have parents who wanted their kids to have an expanded worldview. While my friends were traveling to Disneyland and taking their annual trip to Orlando, my family was riding camels in Egypt and doing homestays with Hmong families in Viet Nam. My childhood and early adult years led me to do my own travel, both in the somewhat classic study abroad experience in the not-so-classic Asia, and a self-planned back-packing trip through Europe. Each of these experiences has absolutely transformed my life, broken hundreds of pre-set stereotypes, made me more uncomfortable than I’ve ever been, and lead me to find my one true love: world travel. Was that cheesy? Eh. It’s true.

Yet once you begin, you can’t stop. World travel is a fickle friend, for it is something that gives you an addiction you can only satisfy every few years (unless you’re lucky enough to have the bank account of Jay Z and Beyoncé). I continually find myself struggling with how to DEAL with these mind-shattering experiences life has thrown at me, and how to not forget how much I’ve experienced, learned, and grown from them. Alas, this blog.

It is on these pages I plan to remember. It is right here I aim to guide others in their own cross-cultural endeavors, and write on topics that are important for world travel. I’m a baby to the blogging world, so bear with me while I traverse the blogosphere for the first time. Let the thought-pouring and finger-flying begin. f1fa32bba6bb9aef106341e5d2c9ed15

Leave a comment